Thursday, September 27th, 2012

Seven Universities Make Credit Transfer Possible for Ontario’s Students

Seven Ontario universities recently announced they have launched a credit transfer plan. This will make it easier for Ontario’s university students to move cities, without losing a whole year’s worth of work, money and credits.

The following schools have agreed on specific course equivalencies across more than 20 of the most popular and high enrolment courses:

  • McMaster University
  • Queen’s University
  • University of Guelph
  • University of Ottawa
  • University of Toronto
  • University of Waterloo
  • Western University

The new initiative is a blanket agreement that gives students enhanced flexibility for working towards a bachelor’s degree at any of those universities. They will be able to count any first year arts and science course taken for credit at a participating university for general credit at their home institution.

The arrangement will make it possible for students to go home during the summer and take a course at one of the participating schools knowing that credit will be counted.

This comes as very welcome news to thousands of Ontario’s students, and organizations such as The Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance (OUSA). Many of Ontario’s educational groups have been calling on the government to implement a better credit transfer system. The agreement between these 7 universities represents a step in the right direction.

Ryan Leclaire
Author: Ryan Leclaire
Ryan has been writing for 7 years and has been featured in Chatelaine, Canadian Living and Cottage life.
Post a comment

Comments are closed.

Contribute to Study Magazine Yellow Arrow